Shaun Lane Dropout Ruling?

Can someone clarify, please?


It was my understanding that if a player has their foot on the sideline or outside the field of play when they touch a moving ball, the ball is deemed out. This exact situation happened in one of the earlier rounds when Ferguson did it on the touch-line a couple of weeks ago.

In the 51st minute, it is clear that Lane had his foot on the dead-ball line prior to the ball touching his knee. Shouldn't this have been deemed to be dead in goal and thus, a 20m restart?

Thanks in advance if someone knows the answer/ruling to this.

You need to be a member of 1Eyed Eel to add comments!

Join 1Eyed Eel

Votes: 0
Email me when people reply –

Replies

  • nrl referees just make the decisions with how they feel at the time. 

  • I'd have to watch it again but I thought his leg was ever so slightly above the deadball line when the ball hit him. Therefore he technically took it out and it was the correct decision. Close call though. Lucky for us we still won :)

    • I just watched and confirmed 100% that his foot was already on the dead ball line.

      So should the ruling have been 20m restart? I am only asking so I understand that ruling. I am not sure why players don't utilise it more often if it is, in fact, the rule.

      If it is the rule, Lane should've put his foot over and played it much earlier.

  • Pretty sure the leg which contacted the ball was in the air but other foot was planted on the line should have been a 20m tap as far as I’m concerned 

    • If that’s the case, yes, it should have been a 20 metre restart.

  • That ruling does not apply to the dead ball line, so the call was correct.

    • This is what I was wondering.

      Are you certain this is the case? I'm assuming it is for the entire in goal area? And not relating to kick offs.

       

    • Spot on

      The rule changed about 10 years ago so fullbacks couldn't hang the foot to get a restart

      From memory the count was the best at it

    • Thats not right. If you catch a kick off with 1 foot over / on the line, that's out on the full and penalty to receiving team

      • The refs were correct. The rule was charged years ago for grubber kicks

This reply was deleted.

More stuff to read

Uncle Wizardssleeve- Indigenous Elder-Freemason Hunter -He/Him replied to Eels2025's discussion State of Origin Game 3 - Predictions
"There's truth to that.  They have the wrong approach , they pick coaches based on their days of playing and not on their player bonding and selection ability. They have always picked teams of individual stars and not blokes willing to go to war for…"
2 minutes ago
Tad replied to Eels2025's discussion Jason Ryles... Report so far
"Hi Randy. My head is exploding with all the things being discussed and how to take it all in.Probably won't sleep well tonight. Just a quick thing to ask your daughter or to think about. How does she perceive life will be for her and her generation…"
3 minutes ago
Bob mertens replied to Johnny Suede's discussion Eels side for round 19 against the Panthers at CommBank
"He's old and fragile the new keiran foran. "
5 minutes ago
sloth replied to ParraEels's discussion Cleary isn't an Origin player
"Why not both? Cleary can't step up in origin and Daley is a terrible coach. There was pretty much the same amount of panthers/ex-panthers players in the team as last year (Edwards, To'o, Crichton, Luai, Martin, Yeo, Leniu etc), yet Cleary couldn't…"
5 minutes ago
More…