Looking to the Future

The Past

As you know I've been stating here for many years we need bigger forwards, and copping plenty of grief over it, from many on this site. Now most on here are beginning to state the same. BA has been as disillusional as many of the supporters on here. Our coming 4th last year just papered over the cracks that had been evident for many years.  

For this year BA had rose coloured glasses on and over estimated our forwards and under-estimated the loss of Semi. There was a plethora of good props available and we bought 2 poor ones. He went cheap and bought Evans and Williams, now if they come good I'll be pleased, but I was unimpressed as was a few others with their recruitment. Now finally the penny has dropped for BA and apparently there is a mad scramble to sign a lightweight prop from SL. More of the bad from me, we need size and quality. We need power middle forwards but currently are heavily stacked with back rowers where most of our go forward comes from (along with Semi).

The Future

What I can tell you is that some of our players must be overpaid as we don't have much left in the cap. To be honest there are not too many quality players in our squad. At the end of this year we need a good cleanout and an honest assessment of the worth of the players we retain. If they don't accept our offers they can go elsewhere. We also need to stop signing ageing players to over-inflated long term contracts past their use by date.

We need to start promoting from within and give those we've spent plenty on hope for their future. BA needs to open the cheque book and buy quality not quantity from outside to fill the holes. He also needs to be proactive and not reactive in his assessment of the team he picks and drop non performing players rather than persisting for too long.